Gameday Debutante

Soon after I arrived in Louisiana from New York, a friend took me to Sunday zydeco at Whiskey River Landing, the bayou-side roadhouse between here and Lafayette. Word spread cross the dance floor there was a Brooklynite in the house, and before I knew it, the singer was calling me up on stage. “A new one. From Brooklyn.” I got some curious/skeptical looks from the audience, but my dance card was full for the rest of the afternoon. Apparently, there’s some novelty to showing the new girl how to dance. Watch your toes.

The same is true of watching football at Tiger Stadium. Instead of putting a ribbon in my hair and driving myself to the dance, I bought student season tickets and a girl-cut LSU jersey. Both gestures felt something like getting ready for a coming-out party.

At first (the start of the 2011 season), I mostly sat in…

View original post 634 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

